Chatham Co. to be named Ga. Camera Ready Community

ATLANTA, GA (WTOC) – Chatham County will be designated a Georgia Camera Ready Community this week. The Georgia Film, Music & Digital Entertainment Office plans to launch the state's Camera Ready Community Program.

Sixteen Georgia counties will be designated a Camera Ready Community at a special ceremony at one of Georgia's newest production facilities, EUE/Screen Gems Studio in Atlanta.

The 16 Camera Ready counties are:Bibb, Carroll, Chatham, Coweta, DeKalb, Dougherty, Emanuel, Floyd, Fulton, Hall, Houston, Lowndes, Morgan, Newton, Walker and Wilkes

More than 700 film and television projects were shot in Georgia in 2009, which brought in more than $590 million in investment and an economic impact to the state of more than $1 billion.

In 2009, productions were shot in 50 counties in Georgia impacting local communities throughout the state. The cast and crew of "The Last Song" used 12,000 hotel room nights during their stay in Savannah and on Tybee Island.

The Georgia Entertainment Industry Investment Act offers an across-the-board flat tax credit of 20 percent based on a minimum investment of $500,000 on qualified productions or projects in Georgia, according to a news release.

Another 10 percent Georgia Entertainment Promotion (GEP) uplift can be earned by including an embedded animated Georgia logo on approved projects.

Copyright 2010 WTOC. All rights reserved.