Local municipality gets fresh start to new year

RIDGELAND, SC (WTOC) - Jasper County council swore in two new council members Monday night. Theodus Drayton for the Robertville district and Martin Sauls for the Coosawhatchie district.

Along with the new members, council also voted on a new Chairman and Vice Chairman with longtime council member Leroy Blackshear taking over on the top seat.

They all have big plans for the coming year.

"My goal is to do the best job that I can. Serve the people of Jasper County with dignity and integrity," said Chairman Leroy Blackshear.

"Our county is poised for great growth in the coming years. I'm looking forward to working with our new council, it's a great opportunity and I look forward to seeing what we can do to make a difference for the people of Jasper County," said Martin Sauls.

The next council meeting is set for Jan. 18.

Copyright 2010 WTOC. All rights reserved.