2012 Ga. Teacher of the Year finalists announced

SAVANNAH, GA (WTOC) – Two Coastal Empire teachers are among the finalists for the 2012 Georgia Teacher of the Year.

Ten teacher finalists were announced Tuesday and were chosen from 154 applicants who were selected as the Teacher of the Year in their school districts.

A panel of judges that included teachers, past Georgia Teacher of the Year winners and finalists, administrators, community leaders and others reviewed the applications.

They were chosen picked based on the strength of their essay responses, according to the Georgia Dept. of Education.

The finalists will also give a speech at a luncheon sponsored by Georgia Power on April 1. The winner will be announced at the Georgia Teacher of the Year banquet on May 6 at the Georgia World Congress Center.

The 2012 Georgia Teacher of the Year will travel around the state and the nation, serving as an ambassador for the teaching profession.

The winner will also be entered in the National Teacher of the Year competition. The 2011 Georgia Teacher of the Year is Pam Williams, a teacher at Appling County High School.

2012 Georgia Teacher of the Year finalists:

  • Jadun O. McCarthy, English Language Arts Bibb County, Northeast Health Science Magnet High School
  • Ashlee J. Mitchell, Speech-Language Pathology Bulloch County, Stilson Elementary School
  • Vicki Tarleton, Mathematics Columbia County, Grovetown High School
  • Nancy Williams, Social Skills Coweta County, Madras Middle School Beth Sciarro, Reading Houston County, Northside Elementary
  • Ivy K. Smith, Mathematics Lowndes County, Pine Grove Middle
  • Christine W. Powell, Journalism, Art History and Literature Muscogee County, Northside High School
  • Lisa Boyd, English Language Arts Rockdale County, Salem High School
  • Melissa Webb, Second Grade Savannah-Chatham, West Chatham Elementary School
  • Nancy C. Rogers, Literature Thomas County, Thomas County Central High School

Copyright 2011 WTOC. All rights reserved.