Deal to visit storm-damaged areas

Ringgold, Ga. (Source: CNN)
Ringgold, Ga. (Source: CNN)

ATLANTA (WTOC) - Gov. Nathan Deal has declared emergency in 12 additional counties, bringing total to 16.

Deal and Georgia Emergency Management Agency Director Charley English will tour storm-damaged areas Thursday in northwest Georgia and western Middle Georgia, according to the governor's office.

The governor has declared a state of emergency in Bartow, Coweta, Greene, Lamar, Meriwether, Monroe, Morgan, Pickens, Polk, Rabun, Spalding, and Troup counties. This brings the total number of counties under a state of emergency to 16 after he declared emergencies for Walker, Dade, Catoosa and Floyd counties on Wednesday night.

The governor is scheduled to be at these locations:

At 11:30 a.m., the governor will arrive in Ringgold in Catoosa County. He will assess damage there by helicopter. He hold a media availability in Ringgold at the Sheriff's Department, 5842 Highway 41.

At 1:30 p.m., the governor will arrive at the site of Mountain View Elementary School in Manchester in Meriwether County.

At 3:30 p.m., the governor will hold a news conference at the State Operations Center at 935 E. Confederate  Ave. in Atlanta.

Copyright 2011 WTOC. All rights reserved.