Beaufort Co. names 2011 Teachers of the Year

BEAUFORT CO., SC (WTOC) - Beaufort County School District teachers were treated with balloons, flowers, chocolate and proclamations this week as members of the Board of Education and District senior staff members made surprise visits to each teacher's classroom to announce the 2011-2012 Teachers of the Year.

Teachers of the Year are selected by their peers following criteria established by the schools, the district's Teacher Forum and the SC Department of Education.  In the fall, each teacher will compete for the District's Teacher of the Year honor.

The 2011-2012 Beaufort County Teachers of the Year are:

Steve Shamblen - Academy  for Career Excellence
Kim Day - Battery Creek High School
Joan Linyard - Beaufort Elementary
Debbie Kidd - Beaufort High School
Stephanie Luzny - Beaufort Middle School
Amelia Middleton - Bluffton Elementary School
Jessica Phillips - Bluffton High School
Lois Lewis - Bluffton Middle School
Jamie Allen - Broad River Elementary School
Katherine Williams - Coosa Elementary School
Sonia Merrick - HE McCracken Middle School
Donna Fonseca - Hilton Head Island Early Childhood Center
Treva Kent - Hilton Head Island Elementary School IB
Gray Chris - Hilton Head Island High School
Maxine Chisolm - Hilton Head Island Middle School
Jackie Wheeler - HHI School for the Creative Arts
Jessica Goethie-Bacon - Lady's Island Elementary School
Cadra Rooney - Lady's Island Middle School
Kathleen Archer - Michael  C Riley Elementary School
Cole Lubkin - Mossy Oaks Elementary School
Marlayna Tracy - Okatie Elementary School
Kimberly Waters - Port Royal Elementary School
Heather Tamminen - Pritchardville Elementary School
Venita Barnette - Red Cedar Elementary School
Steve McPherson - Robert Smalls Middle School
Julie Rast - Joseph S Shanklin Elementary School
Jacqueline Simmons - Shell Point Elementary School
Karen Watts - St. Helena Elementary School
Latoya Gilbert - Whale Branch Elementary School
Karen Jones - Whale Branch Early College High School
Catia Gilbert - Whale Branch Middle School

Congratulations to all!

Copyright 2011 WTOC. All rights reserved.