150 Ga. counties get federal ag disaster designation

ATLANTA (WTOC) - A natural disaster designation has been granted by the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack for 150 counties in Georgia.

The counties will become eligible to apply for emergency loans and other benefits provided by the Food, Conservation and Energy Act of 2008, according to Gov. Nathan Deal's office.

Among the counties included: Appling, Bryan, Bulloch, Chatham, Effingham, Evans, Glynn, Jeff Davis, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, Screven, Tattnall, Toombs, Treutlen, and Wayne.

Vilsack named these counties contiguous disaster counties, according to the governor's office: Baldwin, Clayton, Chattahoochee, Greene, Jasper, Jones, Muscogee, Newton and Talbot.

Copyright 2011 WTOC. All rights reserved.