Garland Awards for outstanding service set - WTOC-TV: Savannah, Beaufort, SC, News, Weather & Sports

Garland Awards for outstanding service set


Twenty-one Savannah area residents are among the recipients of a 2011 Bishop Gartland Award for outstanding service to the Catholic Church in South Georgia.

Savannah Bishop Gregory J. Hartmayer will confer the Bishop Gartland Service Awards on 84 South Georgia recipients on Sunday at the Cathedral of St. John the Baptist in Savannah, according to the Catholic Diocese of Savannah.

These Savannah area residents will receive the award:
Lisa M. Ganser and Geraldine  
Klock St. Boniface Church, Springfield

Shirley A. Pierce
Our Lady of Lourdes Church, Port Wentworth

Paul Nott and Darryl Petermann
St. Anne Church, Richmond Hill

Ann and Varnell  Davis
Blessed Sacrament Church, Savannah

J. Emmet Casey and Carol B Letcher  
Cathedral of St. John the Baptist, Savannah

Cheryl Farley and Gregory  Eady  
Resurrection of Our Lord Church, Savannah

Georganne and William Ratcliff  
Sacred Heart Church, Savannah

Angela and Jerome Egan  
St. Frances Cabrini Church, Savannah

Earl G. Keck and Jean  Lamson  
St. James the Less Church, Savannah

Margaret Ganem and Michael J. Teeple  
St. Peter the Apostle Church, Savannah

Patricia and Bernard  Lowenthal  
St. Michael Church, Tybee Island

The award is named after Savannah's first Bishop Francis X. Gartland and was instituted in 2000 to coincide with the 150th anniversary of the Diocese of Savannah, according to the diocese.

Copyright 2011 WTOC. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly