South Carolina Primary Results

Beaufort County residents hit the polls yesterday for the South Carolina primary and the unofficial results are in.

For the US Senate, in the Republican primary, Jim Demint and David Beasley are running a close race. Demint has 38 percent of the vote. Beasley is following close behind with 31 percent. Inez Tenenbaum will face the winner of that race after easily beating out Ben Frasier.

In the Democratic race for House District 121, Walter Lloyd whipped James Adams with about 80 percent of the votes.

R. Thayer Rivers, Jr., is leading the pack in the Democratic race for House District 122, with 75 percent of the vote.

In the Republican race for District 123, Richard Chalk is winning over his opponent.

In the Beaufort County Council District Six Democratic contest, Gerald Dawson has 53 percent of the votes.

And in the Republican county council Dist Nine race, Skeet von Harten is winning with 52 percent of the vote.

These results are from the election summary report jurisdiction wide. Again these are unofficial results.

Reported by: Jaime Dailey,