23 Savannah area residents receive Gartland award at St. Johns - WTOC-TV: Savannah, Beaufort, SC, News, Weather & Sports

23 Savannah area residents receive service award


Savannah bishop Gregory J. Hartmayer conferred with the Bishop Gartland Service Awards that 68 South Georgians are recipients of the 2012 Gartland Award.

Twenty-three Savannah area residents received the Gartland Award Sunday, which is given for outstanding service to the Catholic Church.

Savannah area residents Mary and Ray Gawronski received the award; they helped with a major restoration of the north side of Sacred Heart Church and have served meals to the homeless for over 15 years.

Darrel N. Jordan from Resurrection of Our Lord Church in Savannah earned the award by keeping up with his youth group members from his Army post in Iraq through letters.

2012 Gartland Award recipients from the Savannah area:


Dr. Gretchen K. Reese and Louis G. Waldhour
Cathedral of St. John the Baptist

Dozier Cook and Toni Cook
Our Lady of Lourdes Church, Port Wentworth

Mary Gawronski and Ray Gawronski
Sacred Heart Church,Savannah

Lois Haslam and Michael Povec
St. Peter the Apostle Church, Savannah

Darrell A. Jordon and David Wilson
Resurrection of Our Lord Church, Savannah

Julie L. Haas and Carole Moylan Massey
St. Frances Cabrini Church, Savannah

Son V. Dang
Saints Peter and Paul Church, Savannah

James J. Collins, Jr. and Elizabeth M. Pinckney
Most Blessed Sacrament Church, Savannah

Thomas E. Butler, Jr. and Helen Marie Stevenson
St. Michael Church, Tybee Island

Janice Kosek and Paul Sweatt
St. Boniface Church, Springfield

Bob Egan and Joyce Egan
St. James Church, Savannah

Mary Therese Frankum and Elizabeth Sullivan
St. Anne Church, Richmond Hill


Copyright 2012 WTOC. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly