McCarron, Mason among Heisman Trophy finalists - WTOC-TV: Savannah, Beaufort, SC, News, Weather & Sports


  • Thank you for participating in our poll. Here are the results so far:

    Jameis Winston - Florida State
    152 votes
    Jordan Lynch - N. Illinois
    12 votes
    Johnny Manziel - Texas A&M
    24 votes
    AJ McCarron - Alabama
    936 votes
    Tre Mason - Auburn
    813 votes
    Andre Williams - Boston College
    13 votes
  • Heisman: Winston, Manziel, Lynch among 6 finalists

McCarron, Mason among Heisman Trophy finalists

Source: MGN Online Source: MGN Online

The rivalry between the Auburn Tigers and Alabama Crimson Tide continues to thrive as each competes for bragging rights, championship wins and big awards.

Monday afternoon, the Heisman Foundation announced six finalists for this year's award and on the list are representatives from both schools.

The University of Alabama's senior quarterback, AJ McCarron, is vying for the award against Auburn junior running back Tre Mason. The other finalists are Jordan Lynch from Northern Illinois, previous Heisman winner Johnny Manziel from Texas A&M, Andre Williams from Boston College and Jameis Winston from Florida State.

"It is a tremendous honor to be selected as a finalist for the Heisman Trophy," McCarron said in a statement provided by the University following the announcement. "This will be my first trip to New York City, and I can't put into words how much it means to me. I am truly privileged to have the opportunity to represent our team at the Heisman ceremony. None of this would be possible without my coaches and teammates. The offensive line, wide receivers, running backs and tight ends have done an unbelievable job all season and our coaches always put us in a position to be successful."

McCarron, who has been part of 3 BCS National Championships in his years at Alabama, is completing nearly 68 percent of passes in 2013 for 2,676 years, 26 touchdowns, 5 interceptions while ranking 8th in passing efficiency(165.9) and 14th in completion percentage. He boasts a career record of 36-3 as the Tide's quarterback.

McCarron is also a finalist for the Maxwell Award, the Davey O'Brien Award, the Manning Award, the Senior CLASS Award and the Walter Camp Player of the Year. He was just named the 2013 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award winner.

"When I heard the news, I was in disbelief," Mason said in a statement provided by Auburn. "This has been such a season for our team and we are going to the national championship. For me to be invited to the Heisman ceremony, I am honored and blessed. I couldn't have done it without my teammates; this is an honor for all of them also."

Mason is part of an Auburn team that ties the NCAA record for the greatest single-season turn around (8.5) and is a key member of one of the greatest rushing units in SEC history averaging 335.7 yards per game. Mason alone averages more than 124 yards per game.

In 2013 Mason is No. 1 in the SEC in rushing yards (1,621), rushing touchdowns (22), and all-purpose yards (2,137). His 22 rushing touchdowns are higher than 2010 and 2012 Heisman winners Cam Newton (20) and Johnny Manziel (21).

Mason 2,137 single-season all-purpose yards also breaks a school record set by another Heisman winner, Bo Jackson (1,859).

He'll be a key player as the team appears in the BCS National Championship game against FSU, which boasts fellow Heisman finalist Jameis Winston as its quarterback.

Auburn has won the Heisman Award three times (Pat Sullivan 1971, Bo Jackson 1985, and Cam Newton 2010). Alabama has won the award once (Mark Ingram 2009).

The 79th Heisman Trophy will be presented at the Nokia Theatre in New York City on Saturday, December 14 and will be broadcast live by ESPN.

Copyright 2013 WSFA 12 News. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly