SCCPSS to host Teacher of the Year Gala - WTOC-TV: Savannah, Beaufort, SC, News, Weather & Sports

SCCPSS to host Teacher of the Year Gala

Posted: Updated:

First Student and Savannah Morning News are presenting the annual Teacher of the Year Gala on Tuesday, Jan. 28.

The event is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. and will bring together 52 of the district's top teachers to honor their outstanding achievements and many contributions to public education.

Four finalists have been chosen out of the 52 school level Teacher of the Year representatives. The finalists will be honored culminating in the announcement of the next Savannah-Chatham Teacher of the Year who will move on to participate in the Georgia State Teacher of the Year program.

The finalists include: Bynikini M. Frazier of Hodge Elementary, Willie Haynes of Hubert Middle, Sara Maier of Jacob G. Smith Elementary, and Timothy Cone of the Woodville-Tompkins Technical and Career High School.

Natalie Chase is the current district level Teacher of the Year, and she will welcome the newly named Teacher of the Year.

Chase will continue to act as the District Teacher of the Year throughout the 2014 school year. The support of area businesses and community partners are what makes this event possible.

The Gala will take place at the Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. Dinner will be at 7 p.m.

Copyright 2014 WTOC. All rights reserved

Powered by WorldNow