Deal expands GA state of emergency

Deal expands GA state of emergency

ATLANTA (WTOC) - Gov. Nathan Deal has added 43 more counties to the state of emergency, so it now includes 88 counties in Georgia.

The state of emergency issued Monday included: Dade, Walker, Catoosa, Whitfield, Chattooga, Gordon, Floyd, Bartow, Polk, Paulding, Cobb, Fulton, Gwinnett, Barrow, Haralson, Carroll, Douglas, DeKalb, Clarke, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Wilkes, Walton, Rabun, Habersham, Stephens, Franklin, Hart, Madison, Elbert, Lincoln, Murray, Fannin, Gilmer, Union, Towns, Pickens, Dawson, Lumpkin, White, Cherokee, Forsyth, Hall, Banks and Jackson counties.

The emergency was expanded to include these counties: Baldwin, Bibb, Bleckley, Burke, Butts, Clayton, Columbia, Coweta, Crawford, Emanuel, Fayette, Glascock, Greene, Hancock, Heard, Henry, Houston, Jasper, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Jones, Laurens, McDuffie, Meriwether, Monroe, Morgan, Newton, Peach, Pike, Putnam, Richmond, Rockdale, Screven, Spalding, Taliaferro, Treutlen, Troup, Twiggs, Upson, Warren, Washington and Wilkinson counties.

Deal will expand the order to additional counties as conditions warrant. For the most up-to-date announcements, please follow the governor on Twitter, @GovernorDeal.

Meteorologist John Wetherbee said that around here it still looks like just a cold rain in Savannah with a real ice storm threat for our northern counties.

He said the models are gaining a better consistency run-to-run for this event. The only real question still remains how far south the cold air will be pushed on the edge of a developing cool wedge of high pressure.  That's where the heaviest freezing rain will occur. And that causes issues with the timing of different winter-types of precipitation too. He said it would only take a "nudge" of that cold air a little farther south to set-up a whole new package of weather dynamics.

South Carolina Gov. Nikki Haley has declared a state of emergency in the Palmetto State. The declaration allows more state resources to be mobilized.

It also activates the emergency operations plan for state agencies to work together if counties need more resources.

The South Carolina Emergency Management Division and members of the State Emergency Response Team have activated the South Carolina Emergency Operations Center at Operation Condition 3, which means that a disaster or emergency situation is likely.

Haley has ordered all state government offices to follow county government closing decisions.

  • The State EOC will be operating 24 hours a day for the duration of this winter weather event.  SCEMD is synchronizing key state agency actions and supporting local response efforts by the counties. 
  • The South Carolina Dept. of Transportation crews are salting roads throughout the state. 
  • The South Carolina Highway Patrol is sending more personnel to staging areas.
  • S.C. Department of Social Services staff, American Red Cross and Salvation Army volunteers are standing by to operate shelters should they become necessary. 
  • State Office of Regulatory Staff is working with the power utilities to track potential power outages and restoration time estimates.

In South Carolina, the South Carolina Emergency Management Division is advising drivers to stay off the roadways and to monitor weather forecasts for the latest conditions.

Get government closings information at

Copyright 2014 WTOC. All rights reserved.