President Obama signs emergency declaration for Georgia - WTOC-TV: Savannah, Beaufort, SC, News, Weather & Sports

President Obama signs Georgia emergency declaration

Posted: Updated:

President Barack Obama on Tuesday on declared an emergency in Georgia and ordered federal aid to supplement state and local response efforts due to the emergency conditions resulting from a severe winter storm beginning on Feb. 10, 2014, and continuing.

The declaration authorizes the Department of Homeland Security, Federal Emergency Management Agency, to coordinate all disaster relief efforts, according to the White House. The President's action also works to alleviate hardship and suffering caused by the emergency and will help to provide appropriate assistance for required emergency measures, authorized under Title V of the Stafford Act.

Under the action, FEMA is authorized to identify, mobilize, and provide at its discretion, equipment and resources necessary to alleviate the impacts of the emergency. 

Emergency protective measures, limited to direct federal assistance, will be provided at 75 percent federal funding.

Georgia Gov. Nathan Deal has added 43 more counties to the state of emergency, so it now includes 88 counties in Georgia. 

The state of emergency issued Monday included: Dade, Walker, Catoosa, Whitfield, Chattooga, Gordon, Floyd, Bartow, Polk, Paulding, Cobb, Fulton, Gwinnett, Barrow, Haralson, Carroll, Douglas, DeKalb, Clarke, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Wilkes, Walton, Rabun, Habersham, Stephens, Franklin, Hart, Madison, Elbert, Lincoln, Murray, Fannin, Gilmer, Union, Towns, Pickens, Dawson, Lumpkin, White, Cherokee, Forsyth, Hall, Banks and Jackson counties. 

The emergency was expanded to include these counties: Baldwin, Bibb, Bleckley, Burke, Butts, Clayton, Columbia, Coweta, Crawford, Emanuel, Fayette, Glascock, Greene, Hancock, Heard, Henry, Houston, Jasper, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Jones, Laurens, McDuffie, Meriwether, Monroe, Morgan, Newton, Peach, Pike, Putnam, Richmond, Rockdale, Screven, Spalding, Taliaferro, Treutlen, Troup, Twiggs, Upson, Warren, Washington and Wilkinson counties.

Copyright 2014 WTOC. All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow