Seven students named Heritage Classic Foundation Scholars - WTOC-TV: Savannah, Beaufort, SC, News, Weather & Sports

Seven students named Heritage Classic Foundation Scholars


Seven Beaufort County seniors were named Heritage Classic Foundation Scholars at a luncheon at the Sonesta Resort on Monday.

The seven students honored today were Beaufort High students Olivia Durbin and Alina Fraley, Bluffton High student Foster Rictchie, Governor's School for Science and Math student Jonah Miller, Hilton Head High students Kara Klein and Megan Webster and Hilton Head Preparatory student Christian Steinmetz.

Scholar Chairman Ward Kirby said in a statement, "This is always an exciting day for the Heritage Classic Foundation. Choosing the seven students to receive these awards was a hard task. We believe the records of these young adults are better than ever. The teachers and administrators of our school systems, as well as the award winners deserve special praise."

Five of the seven students will receive an $18,000 scholarship over the next four years, while the remaining two will receive a $22,000 scholarship. The latter scholarships honor past Scholar Committee chairmen John Zimmerman and the late Mike Malanick.

Durbin was awarded the John Zimmerman Award, and Ritchie was awarded the Mike Malanick Award.

Kirby also said in a statement, "These scholars are not just straight A students. They are leaders in their schools, communities and churches.  They have interests that vary from technology to music to JROTC."

Also announced at the luncheon was an expansion of the scholarship programs to include, in addition to the seven scholarships, four $2,500 annual scholarships at the University of South Carolina-Beaufort and two $1,500 annual scholarships to the Technical College of the Low Country.

Copyright 2014 WTOC. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly