Committee Chairs Named

Several lawmakers from southeast Georgia will now chair powerful committees in Atlanta.

Rep. Ron Stephens will chair Economic Development and Tourism. Tybee Island's Burke Day heads Public Safety. Bob Lane of Statesboro chairs Game, Fish and Parks. State Institutions and Properties will be led by Terry Barnard of Reidsville.

In the Senate, Jack Hill of Reidsville continues as chairman of Appropriations. Regina Thomas will chair State Institutions and Property, and Tommie Williams of Lyons will chair Transportation.

Reported by: Sonny Dixon,