Savannah Youth Council swearing-in ceremony held Tuesday - WTOC-TV: Savannah, Beaufort, SC, News, Weather & Sports

Savannah Youth Council swearing-in ceremony held Tuesday


Savannah’s Youth Council is growing bigger and better after 38 new members were sworn in Tuesday.

The new 2015-16 members were sworn in by Mayor Pro-Tem Van Johnson.

The Youth Council is made up of a special group of 8th graders who will attend council meetings, learn about the role of government, and participate in community service.

"We want them to really get involved and get invested in their city government, to learn how it works and to give us some insight or youth perspective on how they want their community to look. How they want their Savannah to be,” said Carliss Bates, community relations and internship administrator.

"We're planning somethings we can do for Savannah. Which is litter cleanup, volunteering with the humane society and the nursing homes here,” said President of the Savannah Youth Council, Langston Reed.

The year-long program started in 2004 and has since carried on the tradition of providing successful leadership opportunities for middle school students in Savannah.

Members of the 2015-2016 youth council are:

  • Madison A. Alva
  • Sylvia Barnes
  • Zaria Brown
  • Ramon Bryant
  • Demetric Burton
  • Christopher M. Coleman
  • Kiya Davis
  • JaMaiyah  Dortch
  • Ethan Finney
  • Mariah George
  • Deja J.Gillans
  • Shy’nya  Hymon
  • Amir Grant-Kiiza
  • Carolina Guerrero
  • Kyra J. Harris
  • Sahera Howard
  • Shiloh Lerner
  • Maria J. Lotson
  • Marcus McCloud
  • Madison McGee
  • Maliyah McQueen
  • JaLynn R. Mikel
  • Jordan Powell
  • Jennifer S. Primatic
  • Jordyn Quarterman
  • DeVonn J. Raymonville
  • Langston Redden
  • Kayara Roberts
  • Niyah  Saures
  • Sarah J. Simmons
  • Anaya Smith
  • Elijah Staley
  • Jermiah T. Turner
  • Nehemiah Turner
  • Brionna Vernado
  • Aleyah White
  • Otis Williams
  • Kaleb Wimes

Copyright 2015 WTOC. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly