SCCPSS 'Teacher of the Year' honored

SCCPSS 'Teacher of the Year' honored

SAVANNAH, GA (WTOC) - There are a lot of terrific teachers in Savannah-Chatham County Schools.

But only one can hold the title as the district's Teacher of the Year.

Thursday at the International Trade and Convention Center, the top teachers from every school in the district were recognized at the annual "Teacher of the Year" gala.

They go through a very extensive process to be selected, and the Teacher of the Year for 2017 is Amanda Hallman from West Chatham Elementary.

"I mean it's a tremendous honor to be in the presence of so many great teachers and to be chosen out of all of them as the district teacher of the year is unbelievable," said Hallman.

Hallman will serve as the district's Teacher of the Year for the 2016-2017 school year.

Congratulations to all of the district's top teacher finalist:

  • Sheila Lamb-Lindblad, Bloomingdale Elementary School
  • Melissa McCoy, Jenkins High School
  • Mark Case, Oglethorpe Charter School
  • Angel Harlin, White Bluff Elementary School

Copyright 2016 WTOC. All rights reserved.