Beaufort County School District names finalists for 2016-2017 Teacher of the Year

Beaufort county school district names finalists for 2016-2017 teacher of the year.

BEAUFORT CO., SC (WTOC) - The Beaufort County School District has announced their five finalists for the 2016-2017 Teacher of the Year.

The finalists are Lawrence Anderson, a fourth-grade math teacher at Mossy Oaks Elementary; Bebe Cifaldi, a fourth-grade math and science teacher at Hilton Head Elementary School for the Creative Arts; Kelly Goudy, a second-grade teacher at Robert Smalls International Academy; Elizabeth MacMurray, a ninth-grade English Language Arts teacher at Hilton Head Island High; and Jennifer McKenzie, a media arts and social studies teacher at Beaufort Middle School.

All five were presented by Superintendent Jeff Moss at Bluffton High on Monday morning to an audience of more than 1,000 educators.

"Every parent, I think, wants a competent caring adult standing in front of their child each and every day. These five exude that each and every day. They care about their kids. They want to make sure that they are providing each child in their classroom the skills they need to be successful in life. And they think of them as their own children," said Moss.

The District Teacher of the Year will be announced on September 16th.

The current Teacher of the Year is Beaufort Elementary School teacher Arecely Johnson.

Copyright 2016 WTOC. All rights reserved.