Gov. Deal orders mandatory evacuation east of I-95 for 6 coastal counties

GEORGIA (WTOC) - Governor Nathan Deal, acting on a recommendation from the state's Emergency Operations Command, issued a mandatory evacuation Thursday east of Interstate 95 for six coastal counties.

The six coastal counties include:

  • Bryan
  • Chatham
  • Liberty
  • McIntosh
  • Glynn
  • Camden

The voluntary evacuation request, issued yesterday, remains in effect for residents west of I-95 in those counties. 
Maps of shelters are being constantly updated and the most recent shelter map is available here

For more information on locating a facility, call your local authorities, download the Ready Georgia app or visit GEMHSA’s website. There is also information about shelters available on the American Red Cross website

For Hurricane Matthew updates or more information on preparedness efforts, contact Catherine Howden at GEMHSA or visit

Copyright 2016 WTOC. All rights reserved.