FEMA extends public assistance funding to Ware County post-Hurricane Matthew

Ware County is now eligible to apply for FEMA's Public Assistance funding to supplement state and local recovery efforts in areas that sustained damage from Hurricane Matthew.

Ware joins 19 counties previously approved for Public Assistance funding: Brantley, Bryan, Bulloch, Camden, Candler, Chatham, Effingham, Emanuel, Evans, Glynn, Jenkins, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, Pierce, Screven, Tattnall, Toombs and Wayne.

Assistance would cover eligible debris removal and emergency protective measures. It would also cover eligible repair or rebuilding of roads, bridges, water control facilities, public buildings and their equipment, public utilities, parks and recreational facilities damaged as a result of Hurricane Matthew.

The president's Oct. 8 major disaster declaration for Georgia was for Matthew damage that occurred Oct. 4-15. The declaration was amended to make Public

Assistance funding available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for all seven categories including emergency work, restoration of infrastructure and direct federal assistance.

Public Assistance funding for the state and designated counties may include payment of not less than 75 percent of the eligible costs incurred as a result of the storm.

Application procedures for state and local governments will be explained at a series of state/federal applicant briefings to be announced in the affected area. Approved projects are paid through the state from funding provided by FEMA and other participating federal agencies.

For updates on Georgia's Hurricane Matthew response and recovery, visit gemhsa.ga.gov and fema.gov/disaster/4284.