Armstrong State Announces 2017 Athletic Hall of Fame Class - WTOC-TV: Savannah, Beaufort, SC, News, Weather & Sports

Armstrong State Announces 2017 Athletic Hall of Fame Class

( Source: Armstrong Athletics ) ( Source: Armstrong Athletics )

SAVANNAH, Ga. - Armstrong State University has announced its latest induction class for the Armstrong State Athletic Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame selection committee has chosen four inductees and one Service Citation recipient to make up the 2017 class.

The 2017 Induction Class includes: men's tennis player Mikk Irdoja, baseball player Ricky Meeks, women's soccer player Kristina Pascutti and head baseball coach Joe RobertsFaye Kirschner has also been chosen to receive the Service Citation Award.

"I'd like to commend the selection committee for another outstanding class," Armstrong State Athletic Director Lisa Sweany said. "All of our recipients are very deserving and it should make for a fantastic Hall of Fame ceremony in February as we continue to celebrate the 50th Anniversary of Pirate Athletics."

The 2017 class will be inducted on Friday, February 18th, at 6:30 p.m. at the Armstrong State Athletic Hall of Fame Induction Banquet at Armstrong State's Student Union Main Ballroom. There will be a social with the inductees beginning at 6:00 p.m., and tickets are available to the general public for $40 each. Please contact Harold Watson at (912) 344-3236 to reserve your ticket.

Irdoja was a three-time ITA All-American in singles and four-time ITA All-American in doubles for the men's tennis team from 2009-12. A part of two NCAA Championship teams in 2009 and 2012, he is the all-time winningest doubles player at Armstrong State with 131 wins and is third all-time in overall match wins at 238. He was the No. 1 player in the nation in singles in 2010 as well as earning PBC Player of the Year honors.

Meeks pitched for four years, from 1983-86, for the Pirates during the NAIA and Division I era as Armstrong State competed as an inaugural member of the Big South Conference. He compiled a career 29-10 record with 12 saves and a 2.58 ERA with two NAIA Top 10 teams and the first two seasons of Big South competition. He ranks second all-time in wins and fourth all-time in games pitched (71) for the Pirates and was a team captain his final two seasons.

Pascutti was a forward on the Armstrong State women's soccer team from 2009-12 during its most successful seasons, earning All-American and CoSIDA Academic All-American honors for the Pirates. She ranks third all-time in goals scored (36) and in points (83) for the Pirates and was the Peach Belt Conference's Player of the Year in 2011. A three-time All-Peach Belt and NSCAA All-Region performer, she helped Armstrong State achieve three PBC Championships and two NCAA Southeast Region championships during her career, as well as an NCAA Final Four appearance in 2011.

Lastly, Roberts built one of the most storied collegiate baseball programs in any level when he took over the Pirates in 1980 and directed Armstrong State to 1,322 wins in 34 seasons, compiling a .647 winning percentage and earning the honor of the all-time winningest coach in NCAA Division II baseball history. His teams made three trips to the NCAA DII World Series in 1988, 1989 and 1994 and nine times he was honored with Coach of the Year awards. He also served as president of the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) during his career and is a member of the ABCA Hall of Fame.

The service citation recipient for 2017 is longtime Armstrong State faculty member and athletic enthusiast Faye Kirschner. A "Notable Alumni" for Armstrong State, Kirschner established the Faye Kirschner Scholarship in 2014-15 given to an Armstrong State student-athlete, donated to the Armstrong State Athletic Lighting Fund for soccer, baseball and softball while also contributing substantially to the Armstrong State tennis complex's Phase Two development. She has been a fixture at Armstrong State athletic events and was honored as an "Armstrong Hero" by the Student Government Association (SGA) for giving back to the Armstrong State community.

These four inductees bring the total membership of the Armstrong State Athletic Hall of Fame to 82 and the total number of Service Citation award recipients to 16. The inaugural class was inducted in 1995 and a class was inducted each year through 2004, and from 2011 through now.

(From Armstrong State Athletics)

Powered by Frankly