SNAP benefits approved for 69 Ga counties following Hurricane Ir - WTOC-TV: Savannah, Beaufort, SC, News, Weather & Sports

SNAP benefits approved for 69 Ga counties following Hurricane Irma

Georgia EBT card. (Source: Georgia EBT card. (Source:

Benefits from Georgia's SNAP have been issued for recipients in 69 Georgia counties who lost food during power outages caused by Hurricane Irma.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture's Food and Nutrition Service approved the state's request to replace 45-percent of September's benefit allotment for customers living in the 69 counties most affected by the storm.

The approved counties include: Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Baker, Banks, Berrien, Brantley, Brooks, Bryan, Butts, Camden, Candler, Clinch, Coffee, Colquitt, Cook, Crawford, Dawson, Dooly, Echols, Emanuel, Evans, Glascock, Glynn, Greene, Habersham, Hall, Hancock, Irwin, Jackson, Jasper, Jeff Davis, Jenkins, Johnson, Jones, Lanier, Lee, Long, Lowndes, Lumpkin, Macon, McIntosh, Mitchell, Monroe, Morgan, Oglethorpe, Peach, Pickens, Pierce, Pulaski, Putnam, Rockdale, Screven, Stewart, Taliaferro, Tattnall, Telfair, Tift, Towns, Turner, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Wheeler, White, Wilcox, Wilkes and Worth.

The deadline to file those forms requesting a replacement for food lost during Irma is October 2.

The Division of Family and Children Services adding that regular October benefits will not be affected. 

For additional information and to download the Food Loss Replacement Form (Form 841), click here.

Copyright 2017 WTOC. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly