Coastal Empire counties announce mandatory curfew ahead of Hurricane Michael landfall

Coastal Empire counties announce mandatory curfew ahead of Hurricane Michael landfall
(Source: pixaby)

APPLING COUNTY, GA (WTOC) -A mandatory curfew has been issued for Appling, Wayne, and Jeff Davis counties ahead of Hurricane Michael’s landfall.

Residents in Appling County are asked to stay indoors beginning at 8:00 p.m. on Wednesday to last until 9:00 a.m. on Thursday morning.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE October 10, 2018 12:00 pm Baxley, Ga. Residents of Appling County, With the approaching of...

Posted by Appling County Emergency Management Agency on Wednesday, October 10, 2018

A shelter will be open in Appling County beginning on Wednesday around 3:00 p.m. on 217 South Main Street in Baxley for anyone living in a mobile home or unsafe structure. All administrative offices for the Appling Country Board of Commissioners and the City of Baxley will be closed on Thursday.

The City of Jesup and Wayne County beginning on Thursday at 12:00 a.m. and ending at 12:00 p.m.

“We want to be able to respond to emergencies as needed. The sheriff’s office will be beefed up with all of their staff. We are preparing to lose power," said Richard Johnson, Wayne County EMA.

Due to Hurricane Michael, a mandatory curfew will go into effect tonight at midnight and will be in effect until noon on...

Posted by Wayne County Sheriff's Office GA on Wednesday, October 10, 2018

During this time, no vehicular or pedestrian traffic will be allowed on the streets or roadways, with the only exception being those who are traveling to and from work.

A county wide curfew is also in place for Jeff Davis county, beginning at at 6:00 p.m. on Wednesday and continuing through 6:00 p.m. on Thursday.

Posted by Hazlehurst Police Department on Wednesday, October 10, 2018

Evans County has also announced that they are also under a curfew, beginning tonight at 9:00 p.m. and ending on Thursday at noon.

A curfew has been issued for all of Evans County starting tonight at 9:00 PM and will continue through 12:00 PM (Noon)...

Posted by Evans County Emergency Management on Wednesday, October 10, 2018

Please refer to this story for any further curfew announcements.

Copyright 2018 WTOC. All rights reserved.