Two timer: Augenstein can make Players Am history this weekend

Vandy star and 2018 champ is back to defend crown at Berkeley Hall

Two-timer: Augenstein can make Players Am history this weekend

BLUFFTON, S.C. (WTOC) - The Players Amateur will tee off for the 20th time Thursday morning at Berkeley Hall, and John Augenstein can do something that’s never happened in 19 previous tournaments.

The Vanderbilt star can become the first ever two-time champ in tournament history.

“I mean, it’d be awesome,” Augenstein said of the possible accomplishment Wednesday. “The summer has been okay so far. But it’d be nice to get a little more momentum heading into the end of it.”

Augenstein is fresh off playing in the Arnold Palmer Cup earlier this summer, and will compete in the U.S. Amateur and Western Amateur Championships later this summer as well.

John Augenstein won the Players Amateur in 2018. He could be the first player in tournament history to win two titles this weekend.
John Augenstein won the Players Amateur in 2018. He could be the first player in tournament history to win two titles this weekend. (Source: WTOC)

The three-time NCAA All-American admits he hasn’t thought too much about being a potential two-time champ, but says winning this tournament again would mean a great deal to his career now and in the future.

“It’s an awesome tournament. It’s a prestigious event. More than anything, having the ability to play in another PGA Tour event would be awesome,” he says. “I had such a great experience this past spring. I’m ready to go back.”

As the Players Amateur champ, Augenstein earned an exemption into the RBC Heritage in April. He shot 73 in back-to-back rounds to miss the cut by four strokes in his first PGA Tour appearance.

The exemption into the RBC Heritage is just one of the reasons the Players Amateur continues to attract one of the strongest fields in all of amateur golf. All of those in the field are gunning for Augenstein’s title.

But the Commodore star says there’s no extra pressure coming back to Bluffton as the defending champ.

“You’re still just trying to play your game and give yourself a chance on the last day,” he says. “I don’t approach it any different than I did last year or any other tournament.”

Augenstein kicks off his title defense on the 12th hole at 8:20 a.m. Thursday. He’s paired with Vanderbilt teammate Reid Davenport and Georgia Tech standout Luke Schneiderjans.

The Players Amateur tees off Thursday morning at Berkeley Hall.
The Players Amateur tees off Thursday morning at Berkeley Hall.


7:30 a.m.- Hole 1

Lewis, Will

Taylor , Zack

Gordon, Zack

7:40 AM- Hole 1

Nido, Chris

Snyder, David

Strafaci, Tyler

7:50 AM- Hole 1

Morgan, David

Asarch, Connor

Reband, Garett

8:00 AM- Hole 1

Hagestad, Stewart

Brightwell, Jonathan

O'Connell, Kevin

8:10 AM- Hole 1

Squires, Austin

Ralston, Spencer

Morgan, Jediah

8:20 AM- Hole 1

Welch, Patrick

Sowell, Logan

Lee, Fred

8:30 AM- Hole 1

Griz, Jonathan

Armstrong, Josh

Olmsted, Michael

8:40 AM- Hole 1

Harper, Keller

Alligood, Andrew

Wetterich, Daniel

8:50 AM- Hole 1

Hall, Ryan

Didone, Aiden

Ott, Harrison

9:00 AM- Hole 1

Sharpstene, Matthew

Pickens, McCullough

Garrison, Brayden

9:10 AM- Hole 1

Wagoner, Blake

Pak, John

Giantsopoulos, Angelo

9:20 AM- Hole 1

Eaton, Chandler

Windred, Blake

Howe, Connor

9:30 AM- Hole 1

MacDougall, Brendan

Barber, Garrett

Laskin, David

9:40 AM- Hole 1

Fisk, Steven

Smith, Fulton

Garner, Jordan

9:50 AM- Hole 1

Grimmer, Will

Collyer, Blake

Stevens, Scott

8:00 AM- Hole 12

Azallion, Daniel

Hitt, Austin

Forrester, Bartley

8:10 AM- Hole 12

Smith, Ben

Thompson, Jack

McBride, Brandon

8:20 AM- Hole 12

Augenstein, John

Schniederjans, Luke

Davenport, Reid

8:30 AM- Hole 12

Poole, Ashton

Lyerly, Nick

Crabtree, Christopher

8:40 AM- Hole 12

Barbieri, Nathan

Norton, Noah

Thompson, Davis

8:50 AM- Hole 12

Mancheno, Brandon

Nicholas, James

Onishi, Kaito

9:00 AM- Hole 12

Lee, Won Jun

Menon, Nate

Stone, Kevin

9:10 AM- Hole 12

Piot, James

Proveaux, Caleb

Phillips, Trent

9:20 AM- Hole 12

Wolcott, Hunter

Ogletree, Andy

Smalley, Alex

9:30 AM- Hole 12

Biondi , Fred

Rebula, Jovan

Weary, Drew

9:40 AM- Hole 12

Michel, Kyle

Solomon, Jacob

Orischak, Andrew

9:50 AM- Hole 12

Lautee, Andre

Yu, Chun An

Alford, Jonerik

Copyright 2019 WTOC. All rights reserved.