SC Gov. Henry McMaster issues mandatory evacuations, effective at noon Monday

SC Gov. Henry McMaster issues mandatory evacuations, effective at noon Monday

BEAUFORT COUNTY. S.C. (WTOC) - South Carolina Governor Henry McMaster has issued mandatory evacuations for coastal counties, effective Monday at noon.

Residents in the following zones must evacuate beginning no later than NOON TOMORROW, MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 2:

Southern Coast

  • Colleton County Evacuation Zones A, B
  • Beaufort County Evacuation Zone A
  • Jasper County Evacuation Zone A

Central Coast

  • Charleston County Evacuation Zones A, B, C
  • Dorchester County Evacuation Zone D
  • Berkeley County Evacuation Zones B, G

Northern Coast

  • Horry County Evacuation Zone A
  • Georgetown County Evacuation Zone A

To find out if you are in an evacuation zone, you can use the “Know Your Zone” tool on SCEMD’s website.

Governor McMaster also ordered all schools and government offices in the following counties to be closed, beginning Tuesday, September 3: Jasper, Beaufort, Colleton, Charleston, Dorchester, Berkeley, Georgetown, and Horry.

The S.C. Department of Public Safety and the S.C. Department of Transportation along with supporting agencies will reverse the direction of traffic along certain evacuation routes to ease the flow of traffic away from the coast at noon tomorrow, September 2:

Hilton Head - One lane is reversed to create three lanes traveling west on US 278 at the intersection of the Spanish Wells Drive and Moss Creek Village Drive. This reversal is approximately two miles in length.

Charleston to Columbia - A full, four lane reversal on I-26 in Charleston begins at the interchange of I-26 and I-526. The full reversal continues west until the I-26 crossover to I-77 just outside Columbia in Lexington County.

Related story:

Copyright 2019 WTOC. All rights reserved.