Advertisement

Savannah Ghost Pirates 2022-2023 schedule announced

The ECHL revealed their 2022-2023 schedule Thursday, so we now know when Savannah’s newest team, the Ghost Pirates, will begin their inaugural season.
Savannah Ghost Pirates
Savannah Ghost Pirates(Collective Marketing)
Published: May. 5, 2022 at 4:04 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

SAVANNAH, Ga. (WTOC) - The ECHL revealed their 2022-2023 schedule Thursday, so we now know when Savannah’s newest team, the Ghost Pirates, will begin their inaugural season.

The Ghost Pirates will play a 72-game regular season with 36 home games and 36 away games.

“We get to see the 36 dates that we can be together with this city inside this hockey castle that we have here in Savannah,” said Bryan Sklover, the director of community relations for the Ghost Pirates,

A few key dates on that schedule include October 22 where they will open their season at Greenville.

Then on Saturday, November 5, they will play their home opener where they’ll drop the puck at the Enmarket Arena also against the Greenville Swamp Rabbits at 7:00 P.M.

“We’ve already started to lay out what games we for sure have to be at,” said season ticket holder Matthew Baum. “We’ve actually already booked a hotel to Greenville to see the first game to get the party started.”

They’ll play a New Years Eve contest against the Jacksonville Ice Men at 5 p.m. in Savannah. They’ll also play the night before St. Patrick’s Day.

”We are a part of this community. We are their professional sports team, and that night is not just going to be a celebration of our team, but a celebration of the city and how much the city loves sports and loves competition, and really the level of competition and sport we’re bringing here,” Sklover said. “We’re bringing a world-class professional sports experience here.”

The regular season finale will be April 15, 2023 against Orlando.

In total, there are 14 Friday games, 13 Saturday games, 4 Sunday games and 5 Thursday games.

Most of the games will be played at 7 or 7:30 p.m. except on Sundays which will be at 3:00 p.m.

Rivalries are a key part of sports and without ever playing a game, the Ghost Pirates already have a few natural rivals.

“We’re going to get to establish our rivalries, you know, our in-state rivalry with the Atlanta team, and then our proximity rivals with Charleston South Carolina Stingrays, and the Jacksonville Ice Men, so we get to start plotting out where our rivalry days are going to be, and just kind of build that whole excitement,” Sklover said.

Baum agreed.

“With the schedule being very southeastern based, I think we’ll have some fun rivalries that will help amp the atmosphere up,” he said.

Now with the schedule set, the team can turn their attention to the other pressing matters that will need to be taken care of in the next five months like a coach and players.

“We want to get our coach up and going. This is early yet in terms of player signings, dates and things like that. So we want to get him out there and talking to scouts, talking to agents, and making sure that the best players in the ECHL and moving to the ECHL choose savannah as a place to play,” said Team President Bob Ohrablo.

You can see the full interview with Ohrablo here.

Half-season ticket holders will get to select their games in early July, and single-game tickets will go on sale in September.

Now we await a jersey and mascot reveal, along with the National Hockey League affiliation, along with the coach and player announcements.

FULL 2022-23 REGULAR SEASON SCHEDULE:

Saturday, October 22 at Greenville, 7:05 p.m.

Friday, October 28 at Fort Wayne, 8:00 p.m.

Saturday, October 29 at Fort Wayne, 7:30 p.m.

Friday, November 4 at Greenville, 7:05 p.m.

Saturday, November 5 vs. Greenville, 7:00 p.m.

Friday, November 11 vs. Florida, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, November 12 vs. Atlanta, 7:00 p.m.

Sunday, November 13 at Atlanta, 3:00 p.m.

Friday, November 18 vs. Orlando, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, November 19 vs. Jacksonville, 7:00 p.m.

Thursday, November 24 at Atlanta, 7:00 p.m.

Saturday, November 26 at Jacksonville, 7:00 p.m.

Tuesday, November 29 at Atlanta, 7:00 p.m.

Thursday, December 1 vs. South Carolina, 7:00 p.m.

Friday, December 2 vs. Orlando, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, December 3 at South Carolina, 3:05 p.m.

Thursday, December 8 vs. Orlando, 7:00 p.m.

Friday, December 9 vs. Florida, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, December 10 vs. Florida, 7:00 p.m.

Wednesday, December 14 at Greenville, 7:05 p.m.

Friday, December 16 at Orlando, 7:00 p.m.

Saturday, December 17 at South Carolina, 7:00 p.m.

Sunday, December 18 at Atlanta, 3:00 p.m.

Wednesday, December 21 at Jacksonville, 7:00 p.m.

Thursday, December 22 vs. South Carolina, 7:00 p.m.

Friday, December 23 vs. Orlando, 7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, December 28 at Orlando, 7:00 p.m.

Friday, December 30 vs. Greenville, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, December 31 vs. Jacksonville, 5:00 p.m.

Sunday, January 1 at Atlanta, 3:00 p.m.

Saturday, January 7 vs, South Carolina, 7:00 p.m.

Sunday, January 8 at Atlanta, 3:00 p.m.

Friday, January 13 vs. South Carolina, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, January 14 at Greenville, 7:05 p.m.

Friday, January 20 at Florida, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, January 21 at Florida, 7:00 p.m.

Thursday, January 26 at Orlando, 7:00 p.m.

Friday, January 27 vs. Orlando, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, January 28 at Atlanta, 7:00 p.m.

Friday, February 3 vs. Orlando, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, February 4 vs. Atlanta, 7:00 p.m.

Sunday, February 5 at Atlanta, 3:00 p.m.

Friday, February 10 vs. Cincinnati, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, February 11 vs, South Carolina, 7:00 p.m.

Friday, February 17 vs. Utah, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, February 18 vs. Greenville, 7:00 p.m.

Sunday, February 19 at Greenville, 3:05 p.m.

Wednesday, February 22 at Greenville, 7:05 p.m.

Friday, February 24 vs. Fort Wayne, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, February 25 vs. Fort Wayne, 7:00 p.m.

Sunday, February 26 vs. Worcester, 3:00 p.m.

Thursday, March 2 vs. Atlanta, 7:00 p.m.

Saturday, March 4 vs. Florida, 7:00 p.m.

Sunday, March 5 vs. Florida, 3:00 p.m.

Friday, March 10 at Greenville, 7:05 p.m.

Saturday, March 11 at. Jacksonville, 7:00 p.m.

Sunday, March 12 vs. Greenville, 3:00 p.m.

Thursday, March 16 vs. Greenville, 7:00 p.m.

Friday, March 17 at Jacksonville, 7:00 p.m.

Saturday March 18 at South Carolina, 6:05 p.m.

Thursday, March 23 at Jacksonville, 7:00 p.m.

Friday, March 24 vs. South Carolina, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, March 25 vs. Atlanta, 7:00 p.m.

Friday, March 31 vs. Atlanta, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, April 1 at Greenville, 7:05 p.m.

Sunday, April 2 vs. Greenville, 3:00 p.m.

Wednesday, April 5 at Allen, 8:05 p.m.

Friday, April 7 at Allen, 8:05 p.m.

Saturday, April 8 at Allen, 8:05 p.m.

Wednesday, April 12 at South Carolina, 7:05 p.m.

Thursday, April 13 at Greenville, 7:05 p.m.

Saturday, April 15 vs. Orlando, 7:00 p.m.

(Home games in bold, schedule is subject to change, all times Eastern)

Copyright 2022 WTOC. All rights reserved.